Library Board of Trustees

NH law (RSA 202-A:6) states "The library trustees have the entire custody and management of the public library and all of the property of the town relating thereto...excepting trust funds held by the town."

Current Library Board of Trustees

The Merrimack Public Library has a five-member Board of Trustees. The Trustees are elected by the general population, and each serve a 3-year term with staggered election dates.

Current Board Members include:

Debra Covell, Chair (2022) -

Karen Freed (2023) -

Sohini Gupta (2023) - 

Janet R. Krupp, Treasurer (2021) -

Janice Tibbetts, Secretary (2021) -

Board Alternate (1-year term) - Currently open (up to 3 positions available)*

*The Town Charter allows for up to 3 Alternate Trustee positions. These are ideal for library supporters who are interested in learning more about Board responsibilities but are unable to commit to a full 3-year term. Alternate Trustees may attend meetings, but are only required to vote when their presence will provide a quorum of the Board (3 members present). Alternate Trustees must be Merrimack residents but should not be current Library employees. If you're interested in applying for one of these positions, please submit a letter of interest and qualifications to Town Manager Eileen Cabanel at Candidates are appointed by the Town Council on the Trustees' recommendation.


Currently the Board meets on the third Tuesday of the month at 7:00pm over Zoom. Occassionally business requires them to meet more often. Meetings are open to the public, and most are recorded by MerrimackTV and replayed on local cable access Channel 20. Video of recorded meetings can also be viewed at

Upcoming Meetings:

  • October 2 @ 8:30am, Zoom - Agenda
  • October 20 @ 7:00pm, Zoom - Agenda (TBA)

Library Trustee Meeting Minutes, FY 2020-2021

  • July 21, 2020 minutes
  • August 18, 2020 minutes
  • September 12, 2020 minutes (Retreat)
  • September 15, 2020 minutes

Trustee Documents

Library Trustee Job Descriptions

Library Trustee Bylaws

Library Trustee Investment Policy